Beginnings

Today, the application for the JET Program has officially opened for American applicants.

Although I have no intentions of rushing through the application, I was quick to create an account and get started reading through what I had to do. As I expected, there was a mountain of paperwork and plenty of guidelines to go through.

What’s particularly nerve wracking about this application is the fact that the website clearly states that any omission will disqualify you from the program entirely. I am not planning on forgetting anything, but I would be lying if I said that I haven’t made silly mistakes like that in the past. Of course I am planning on going over every section about a hundred times before I submit my application for real, but considering the sheer volume of information that is required to be provided, the room for potential error is high.

I realize this is a silly thing to be worried about, especially this early on in the application process. I mean, it’s only the first day the application has been available, but it’s important to realize how much time and study I’ve already dedicated to this. I would hate to throw it away over something so small.

That being said, I still feel excited about the prospect of tackling this challenge. I’ve spent the past couple of years preparing myself, and the more I went through the application and filled out the forms, the better I felt about it. I went from feeling nervous to feeling determined that I was qualified and dedicated enough to get through this.

It is important to keep in mind that the reason they are so strict on this is to weed out those who are not as serious. This is not something that you just decide to do because you are about to graduate and have no other plans. If you want to be a part of this program, you have to be set on it, and that means taking care of every detail that needs to be taken care of.

So there are some worries, but overall I still feel confident. I’ve got a great network of people willing to help me out and plenty of information online that I can look into. This is something that I want to do, and I’m willing to take every necessary step to get it done.

There are many others who officially started their journey today as well. No one knows what will happen going into the future, and we all hope for the best. Hopefully one day I will be looking back on this post and laughing at how I was worried about the application process. But for now, there’s a lot riding on this, so it’s time to get serious.

Leave a Reply

